#1 rgr738

rgr738

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Logic User Since:2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:55 PM

Hi,

I'm a noob here - running Logic Express (8) on a three year old Intel Imac (OSX 10.4).

I do indie rock to alt-country and singer-songwriter kind of stuff. I'd love to be able to mic real drums, but I don't have the space. Used to record them back in the day, but haven't for at least a decade. Slowly getting back into recording and learning the computer way of working. A bit of a learning curve there to say the least! I did pick up the Nahmani book to get me started.

So, some sort of in the box thing is needed for drums. I can't see myself using the supplied loops. I've just started trying out Ultrabeat and find the tones wanting (not much in the way of acoustic drum tones with Express).

So, I want to know what my options are. My understanding is that 2 gigs of RAM is not going to cut it with things like BFD or Addictive drums. I'm aware of EZ drummer. And Steven Slate. I'm sure there are others. But I only have a vague idea of how they work, and their respective advantages and disadvantages.

I'd just like to know if there are viable workarounds for BFD or Addictive. (Also should mention that I don't have a ton of hard drive space either - I think the external drive has about 200 gbs and the Imac about a third of that). I'm not a drum programmer - i hate programming drums. So, ease of use is also a factor. Also, V drums could be a possibility. But I know squat about them as well and drum replacement and all that stuff.

I think right now I'm leaning towards EZ drummer - due to my lack of RAM, the supposedly better interface on it, and the fact that the drums sound decent.

But I don't really know enough about this stuff to even know what I don't know. If you know what I mean?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Cheers,
Geoff

#2 Scorpii

Scorpii

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Logic User Since:2007

Posted 27 September 2010 - 04:14 AM

Hi,Geoff.