Jump to content


Photo

Should I Partiton My Drive ?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 camarao

camarao

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 November 2004 - 12:04 PM

Thank you !

Iīve already ordered an 20" Imac G5. But I will not buy the Lacie disk. Thatīs because the 20" is more expensive...

Should I partition the 160 gb Imac disk?

Thank you again!

#2 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 05 November 2004 - 01:22 PM

Thank you !  
Should I partition the 160 gb Imac disk?  


A separate hard drive is the best option.

Keeping your System and Apps on one drive and using a separate drive for you audio is the optimal setup.

Partitioning your "main" drive will NOT offer a performance boost.
You can partition it for organizational reasons, and I would suggest you do.

With partitioning your main drive your system would be working just as hard if not harder to deal with the system and its apps and your audio.


Peter

Mixing - Logic Pro X | OS X 10.8.4 | 3.4GHZ Quad Core Hackintosh | 16GB Ram |

Studio Tracking - Logic Pro 9.1.8 | OS X 10.6.8 | 2GHZ Quad Mac Pro | 6GB Ram | Apogee Symphony PCI-e | Apogee AD16X | Apogee Mini DAC | Logic Control & Extender and Mackie Control C4 and a boat load of other cool stuff i use in my studio Static Productions


#3 DiscoDave

DiscoDave

    Where do I post this ?

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buckinghamshire
  • Interests:Chillis / Euro sleazy thrillers / Kronenborg / James Ellroy

Posted 29 November 2004 - 07:01 AM

I was going to partition my G5 drive - exactly for the organizational reasons stated here, however . . . can I just go ahead & do it, or would it destroy all of the existing data?

#4 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 November 2004 - 10:04 AM

yes it will,

you will have to re-install your os and apps.

#5 DiscoDave

DiscoDave

    Where do I post this ?

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buckinghamshire
  • Interests:Chillis / Euro sleazy thrillers / Kronenborg / James Ellroy

Posted 29 November 2004 - 10:49 AM

Hmm - okay, glad I asked.

#6 stevelibby3

stevelibby3

    Ohh.. I got it now

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Location:Asheville, NC
  • Logic User Since:2002

Posted 24 May 2006 - 06:03 PM

Peter-would you suggest partitioning the main drive if one already has an external drive? My internal is Maxtor and external is Lacie... I'm about to wipe, do clean install, Logic 7, etc...

#7 tobyond

tobyond

    Moderator Retired

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern WA
  • Logic User Since:2000

Posted 24 May 2006 - 08:20 PM

I also subscribe to the theory of only partitioning for organization sake (or to make a bootable partition to run disk warrior off). It is a little disconcerting to have so many drives in the side bar of my finder.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users