Jump to content


Photo

My next gear puchase will be.....


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 tobyond

tobyond

    Moderator Retired

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern WA
  • Logic User Since:2000

Posted 08 September 2004 - 10:58 PM

My next gear purchase hardware or software will be.....

Hardware: Dual 2.5ghz G5
Software: VSL Opus 1

Just a few more paychecks.
Hmmmm, tasty.

#2 kanker

kanker

    Site Supporter

  • Site Supporters Plus
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Location:Indy
  • Logic User Since:2002

Posted 09 September 2004 - 12:02 AM

Ahhh, a burning question in my house. I'm thinking of getting a Studio Projects VTB1 pre, it looks like a pretty functional piece for the price. I'm also looking at getting a new FW drive. Dual G5's don't look like they're on the near horizon for me, but I can still drool. I'll also be upgrading my I/O in the near future, hopefully with an ESI Hexafire whenever it comes out. Loads of I/O (16 analog) for about as much as an 828mkII.

#3 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 13 September 2004 - 03:24 PM

well...

Logic7 upgrade :D
A Keyboard controller for the studio(88 weighted keys)
A hot sexy pre-amp (2ch or 4ch)
Lynx AES16 AES/EBU PCI Card
Next generation of G5s (Dual 3-3.8ghz)
Two 23' Apple Displays.
Good Condensers are always on the list.
New reference monitors.
OS X 10.4 AKA Tiger 8)

Now i just need a shit load of cash :shock:


Peter

Mixing - Logic Pro X | OS X 10.8.4 | 3.4GHZ Quad Core Hackintosh | 16GB Ram |

Studio Tracking - Logic Pro 9.1.8 | OS X 10.6.8 | 2GHZ Quad Mac Pro | 6GB Ram | Apogee Symphony PCI-e | Apogee AD16X | Apogee Mini DAC | Logic Control & Extender and Mackie Control C4 and a boat load of other cool stuff i use in my studio Static Productions


#4 ricey

ricey

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:São Paulo/ NYC
  • Logic User Since:1999

Posted 18 September 2004 - 07:33 PM

a Tascam DA78

#5 tobyond

tobyond

    Moderator Retired

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern WA
  • Logic User Since:2000

Posted 21 September 2004 - 05:03 PM

Hi ricey, I noticed in your sig you have VSL Pro, how is it running on a G5? What sort of track count do you get before freeze steps in? I'm getting VSL soon and am curious.

#6 ricey

ricey

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:São Paulo/ NYC
  • Logic User Since:1999

Posted 21 September 2004 - 06:51 PM

i'm still just a newbie with the VSL- the performance tools are tricky, even with the manual and all the online support, it's quite the learning curve. sound familiar?
but the G5 loves it, eats it up. mind you, i DO have a TDM system.
from what i can see so far, the VSL and the EXS24 are a match made in heaven- the samples are huge, but the EXS streams them instead of loading them up in the RAM. perfect.
i've only loaded about 12 instruments at once so far, not a hitch :)
not to mention the VSL sounds in-friggin-credible!

#7 mersisblue

mersisblue

    Site Supporter

  • Site Supporters Plus
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NJ
  • Interests:Im a certified audio engineer from cti lake hurst nj
  • Logic User Since:2004
  • Audio Software Used:logic pro 6-9
    nuendo 4 and up though not lately
    digital performer
    pro tools

Posted 21 September 2004 - 07:17 PM

my next toy will be logic pro 7

#8 lavish

lavish

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:New York City

Posted 24 October 2004 - 09:16 PM

Next up for me is:

MPC2000 (can't live without one)
Denon DN-S3000

...and one mutha of a G5, but not yet :wink: [/url]

#9 mersisblue

mersisblue

    Site Supporter

  • Site Supporters Plus
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NJ
  • Interests:Im a certified audio engineer from cti lake hurst nj
  • Logic User Since:2004
  • Audio Software Used:logic pro 6-9
    nuendo 4 and up though not lately
    digital performer
    pro tools

Posted 03 November 2004 - 02:32 AM

my next toy will be logic pro 7


:D well now that ive got 7 Im thinking 2 1176 's will do me nice :D

Im leaning towards the purple ones

#10 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 14 November 2004 - 09:41 PM

I've been considering one of those focusrite Liquid Channels.

http://www.ffliquid.com/home.html

anyone play with one of these?

Mixing - Logic Pro X | OS X 10.8.4 | 3.4GHZ Quad Core Hackintosh | 16GB Ram |

Studio Tracking - Logic Pro 9.1.8 | OS X 10.6.8 | 2GHZ Quad Mac Pro | 6GB Ram | Apogee Symphony PCI-e | Apogee AD16X | Apogee Mini DAC | Logic Control & Extender and Mackie Control C4 and a boat load of other cool stuff i use in my studio Static Productions


#11 tobyond

tobyond

    Moderator Retired

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern WA
  • Logic User Since:2000

Posted 14 June 2005 - 05:12 PM

Maybe this would be a nice addition to my collection. :cool: :wink:

#12 mersisblue

mersisblue

    Site Supporter

  • Site Supporters Plus
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NJ
  • Interests:Im a certified audio engineer from cti lake hurst nj
  • Logic User Since:2004
  • Audio Software Used:logic pro 6-9
    nuendo 4 and up though not lately
    digital performer
    pro tools

Posted 15 June 2005 - 04:35 AM

well I just ordered a Behringer rotary control :wink:

I'm currently looking at another Mac / cpu upgrade

and the chandler TG-2

#13 mersisblue

mersisblue

    Site Supporter

  • Site Supporters Plus
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NJ
  • Interests:Im a certified audio engineer from cti lake hurst nj
  • Logic User Since:2004
  • Audio Software Used:logic pro 6-9
    nuendo 4 and up though not lately
    digital performer
    pro tools

Posted 23 June 2005 - 02:40 PM

I just got a TG-2 :victory: It's awesome

Im still looking at CPU power options but it looks like I have to rough it out

#14 prajna

prajna

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Oregon Coast
  • Interests:Electronica, Indian Ragas
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 07 February 2006 - 08:20 PM

Woohoo! My new Dual 2.7ghz G5 is showing up in 3 days!

I work on a 17" 1.5 powerbook, and planning on using DAP/Nodes to it's fullest extent.

Got the house wired with gigabit ethernet, and hoping to use my powerbook on my lap, sennheisers on my head, with the power of the G5 in the closet!

:victory:

(Thanks for asking!)

#15 rlsproductions

rlsproductions

    Ohh.. I got it now

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC & London
  • Interests:Hip Hop & Poontang - in that order!
  • Logic User Since:1999

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:23 PM

So many thing to buy, so little money!

Old Dual G5 2.7Ghz (with 2x "30 screens connected thru Logic nodes to my present G5)
Neve Pre channels
SSL Channel strip
Neumann U87
& most importantly a Phat studio space (like tobyond's choice in NZ)!

Thanks to the VSL library I don't think I'll be buying any more samples anytime soon!

Also I think the Liquid Channel is over-rated as some of it's Manley and Universal Audio replicas sound a lil digital, with not enough air & dynamics as the real deal! Like the LA-2a on a liquid channel sounds like the LA2A plug-in in the UAD pak - barely noticeable differance to most.

#16 tedjames

tedjames

    Site Supporter

  • Site Supporters
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Providence, RI
  • Logic User Since:1999

Posted 10 September 2006 - 05:50 PM

Have you seen this?

(I'm referring to the KORG PADkontrol and not the shirt dude is wearing.)

http://www.gearwire....Pad_Kontrol.mov




I didn't know it could do that...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users