Jump to content


Photo

Are You Using Garageband ?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you use GarageBand ? (121 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you use GarageBand ?

  1. Yes (26 votes [21.49%])

    Percentage of vote: 21.49%

  2. No (95 votes [78.51%])

    Percentage of vote: 78.51%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#21 octopi

octopi

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Portsmouth, UK
  • Logic User Since:1999

Posted 08 February 2006 - 03:29 PM

Don't have it installed. Seen it, messed with it a little and just not interseted. Always use Logic. Just as an aside I think Logic 7.2 getting the ducking plugin is a little off. GB should be inheriting scaled down Logic tecnology, not the other way around. And to duck you just side chain a compressor. Logic IS the Pro app and most pros know how to duck without an idiot proof 'ducker', which is not a jibe by the way. It is perfect for GB in the context of what it is used for and GB seems a great consumer app for consumer users. It just doesn't look as though Apple are seeing it that way at the moment.

#22 Guest_~ j ~_*

Guest_~ j ~_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 February 2006 - 07:08 PM

hav it installed, but god knows why - i dont use it.

if i want to sketch stuff, i use reason ...
it never crashes (ever), is very flexible and cpu efficient.

next step after sketching would be to ... rewire it into pro.

but ... logic/reason rewire cycle bug which appeared at v7.0 has still not been fixed/or even agknowledged by apple. :dknow:

i duno what ppl find so great about garbageband.
i find it ugly, a cpu hog and is actually rather weird trying to use it after logic. :wacko:

#23 Guest_~ j ~_*

Guest_~ j ~_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 February 2006 - 07:18 PM

GB should be inheriting scaled down Logic tecnology, not the other way around

agreed.

#24 fractured

fractured

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Washington DC area, USA
  • Logic User Since:1999

Posted 09 February 2006 - 11:52 AM

I have only used it long enough to see if it was of interest to me. Oh, and occassionally to show people in the Apple store. I'll stick to Logic, thank you.

#25 onelouder

onelouder

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:London England & Melbourne Australia
  • Logic User Since:1986

Posted 09 February 2006 - 04:14 PM

Don't have it installed. Seen it, messed with it a little and just not interseted. Always use Logic. Just as  an aside I think Logic 7.2 getting the ducking plugin is a little off. GB should be inheriting scaled down Logic tecnology, not the other way around. And to duck you just side chain a compressor. Logic IS the Pro app and most pros know how to duck without an idiot proof 'ducker', which is not a jibe by the way. It is perfect for GB in the context of what it is used for and GB seems a great consumer app for consumer users. It just doesn't look as though Apple are seeing it that way at the moment.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I totally agree!
What? You want us to pay for this half hearted update too!

#26 Mikey MTC

Mikey MTC

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 09 February 2006 - 04:42 PM

Logic gets Garage Band features ONLY to maintain compatibility between them - so jobs begun on Garage Band can be finished on Logic.

#27 kev

kev

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:leeds-england
  • Interests:ambient/electronic experimental pap synths and softsynths samplers recording equipment field recording..more but are you still reading?
  • Logic User Since:2004

Posted 14 February 2006 - 06:17 PM

dragged it into the trash can after about 5 mins of messing
ok for kids i suppose...

#28 lazyeye

lazyeye

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 17 February 2006 - 06:49 AM

I'm still relatively new to Logic Pro. Only started using Logic in November, when I bought new G5 (which is the first time I have ever had GB installed), so have spent time making the transition to Logic. If I want to sketch out ideas, I could do it in Reason or Live. But I usually prefer working in Logic from the start. As I'm still learning how to use it, I've only open GB once since getting the new Mac.

Does anyone use GB in conjunction with Logic ?
Please discuss if and how you use GB.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



#29 skeetloaf

skeetloaf

    Where do I post this ?

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Location:Milky Way
  • Logic User Since:2003

Posted 20 February 2006 - 03:21 PM

I don't use it 'cause, well I just don't own it! :blush:

Never bought iLife '05 or '06...

I probably would use it for simple stuff, though, like quick edits or mp3 conversions (it can do that right?).

#30 gdoubleyou

gdoubleyou

    Ohh.. I got it now

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kirkland WA
  • Interests:audio/video/webspace engineering

Posted 22 February 2006 - 02:59 PM

It's a great tool for fast prototyping. I can whip out the framework for several songs in a hour.

The key to getting the most out of it, is to feed it your own Apple Loops.

I've also found the extra instruments, and channel strips from the jampacks useful.

:cool:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users