Jump to content


Photo

Logic 7 is out!


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

Poll: What is your Favorite New feature of Logic Pro 7 ? (6 member(s) have cast votes)

What is your Favorite New feature of Logic Pro 7 ?

  1. New Effect Plug-ins (3 votes [11.11%])

    Percentage of vote: 11.11%

  2. Apple Loops (4 votes [14.81%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.81%

  3. Distributed Audio Processing (9 votes [33.33%])

    Percentage of vote: 33.33%

  4. New GUI (4 votes [14.81%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.81%

  5. Productivity Enhancements (6 votes [22.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 22.22%

  6. New Instruments (1 votes [3.70%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.70%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 mlehmann

mlehmann

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Quebec

Posted 29 September 2004 - 08:12 AM

UK
http://www.apple.com/uk/logic/

USA
http://www.apple.com/logic/

You can find more info at Apple Online store in UK and the USA.

#2 AudiosteeleVR6

AudiosteeleVR6

    Ohh.. I got it now

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Interests:Snowboading, cars, video games

Posted 29 September 2004 - 09:03 AM

Just looked on Apple site. It's cool that they support the Apple Loops, but do I also have to buy the Jam Packs (at an additional cost-$99 each and there are three of them) or are those going to be included with the upgrade?

The sooner someone replies the sooner I will order the upgrade (and the Jam Packs if I have to).

#3 AudiosteeleVR6

AudiosteeleVR6

    Ohh.. I got it now

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Interests:Snowboading, cars, video games

Posted 29 September 2004 - 09:39 AM

Answering my own question from before (all I had to do was call Apple directly), Jam Packs must be purchased separately. Therefore it'll cost you about $600 to buy the upgrade and the three packs (or about $1300 from scratch). It should be well worth it.

Version 7 isn't available until early October which is days or weeks away depending on when Apple decides to ship the thing. The Jam Packs can be purchased now.

Another little tidbit I caught on Apple site is that Logic 7 will be fully supported by Apple alone (all previous versions will have to refer to eMagic for updates). So that makes me wonder if my wish for updates to come through the OSX software updater will come true (crossing fingers).

#4 soundhacker

soundhacker

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Zagreb,Croatia

Posted 29 September 2004 - 10:36 AM

not quite happy with upgrade price....
i bought logic pro this year and now have to pay the same amount of money as logic platinum 5 or 6 user?
not fair...
when i bought max/msp they gave me 4.3 to 4.5 upgrade for free....

#5 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 10:49 AM

not quite happy with upgrade price....
i bought logic pro this year and now have to pay the same amount of money as logic platinum 5 or 6 user?  
not fair...
when i bought max/msp they gave me 4.3 to 4.5 upgrade for free....


Stop your bitchin, look at all the added stuff your getting :shock:
It CRAZY!!!!!!!!! Really go look!

:D :D :D :D :D :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Increase the processing power :shock:
Simply add one or more Macintosh systems via Ethernet (or FireWire) connections to your Logic Pro 7 system.
http://www.apple.com...butedaudio.html

Apple Loops
http://www.apple.com...appleloops.html

New effects and synths.
http://www.apple.com.../sculpture.html
http://www.apple.com.../ultrabeat.html
http://www.apple.com...neweffects.html

And a shit load more...

Supprt your software, dont bitch about it...

Peter

#6 soundhacker

soundhacker

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Zagreb,Croatia

Posted 29 September 2004 - 10:58 AM

sorry for interupting your ecstatic energy bursts here... :wink:
but i still feel dissapointed...
(and btw, believe me, i pay for all the shareware i use) :D

#7 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 11:04 AM

I feel ya, a little..

(and btw, believe me, i pay for all the shareware i use)


Didn't mean that at all.

This is just how it is.. version to version, current users will pay an upgrade price. Thats how its been for a while.

I to just put down 199.00 for Logic Pro 6 this past winter. To me it was worth it. Space Designer alone, not to mention all the other plugs did it for me.
No I have no problem (well a little, but it not going to stop me) upgrading to Pro 7. Its well worth it.

Peter

#8 soundhacker

soundhacker

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Zagreb,Croatia

Posted 29 September 2004 - 11:14 AM

yes peter, i am aware of what you say...
and at last i will give that 300 euro for all that new features..thats how we are...
hopefully this is why james mccartney started to work for apple...so lets see what they have done
:wink:

#9 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 12:01 PM

Looks like the transition to Apple is over.

http://www.emagic.de/EN/index.html

Emagic's web site is now just a support center.

So now I guess the homepage is http://www.emagic.de...dex.php?lang=EN

So that makes me wonder if my wish for updates to come through the OSX software updater will come true (crossing fingers).


Ya I would think that updates will come through OS Xs update function.
DVD Studio Pro
Final Cut Pro
Final Cut Express

All update through the Osx updater.

Peter

#10 kanker

kanker

    Site Supporter

  • Site Supporters Plus
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Location:Indy
  • Logic User Since:2002

Posted 29 September 2004 - 01:14 PM

Yeah, I'm slightly bummed about the upgrade path -slightly. On the other hand, for $300 - I'm excited. My biggest questions have to do with the distributed computing aspects. I don't see anything that says you CAN'T use plain old 10/100 ethernet in a one node system. If that is true, opinions/speculations on which would be better - Firewire 400 or 10/100?

#11 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 04:36 PM

Grab the LP7 overview.

Click here: Logic Pro 7 Product Overview.pdf

More pics and explanation of features.


Peter

#12 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 04:48 PM

arrange Window channel strip.

Posted Image

Mixing - Logic Pro X | OS X 10.8.4 | 3.4GHZ Quad Core Hackintosh | 16GB Ram |

Studio Tracking - Logic Pro 9.1.8 | OS X 10.6.8 | 2GHZ Quad Mac Pro | 6GB Ram | Apogee Symphony PCI-e | Apogee AD16X | Apogee Mini DAC | Logic Control & Extender and Mackie Control C4 and a boat load of other cool stuff i use in my studio Static Productions


#13 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 04:51 PM

Posted Image

Mixing - Logic Pro X | OS X 10.8.4 | 3.4GHZ Quad Core Hackintosh | 16GB Ram |

Studio Tracking - Logic Pro 9.1.8 | OS X 10.6.8 | 2GHZ Quad Mac Pro | 6GB Ram | Apogee Symphony PCI-e | Apogee AD16X | Apogee Mini DAC | Logic Control & Extender and Mackie Control C4 and a boat load of other cool stuff i use in my studio Static Productions


#14 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 05:35 PM

New Effects & Sound Generation
http://www.apple.com...neweffects.html

UltraBeat
Sculpture
Guitar Amp Pro
Ringshifter
Vocal Transformer
Pitch Correction
Linear Phase EQ
Match EQ
Multimeter

#15 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 06:38 PM

humm....
New for XSkey authorization. Looks like no more email authorizations..

XSKey will be immediately updatable via the internet when user first runs new version.



#16 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 08:07 PM

Anyone see this little dirty secret?

Waveburner software creates CD masters in Redbook audio format.


Hows that ? those sneaky little bastards!

Thats pretty big stuff I think :shock:

WaveBurner Pro X is bundled with Logic Pro 7. It is a separate
application.
Logic Pro/Express 7 however also has a simple CDDA burn function built
into the Bounce dialog.

Beste Gruesse - best regards,
Michael Haydn

Dipl.-Inform. Univ. Michael Haydn
Logic Developer http://www.emagic.de/
SoundDiver Group Executive
Emagic Soft- & Hardware GmbH



Peter

#17 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 08:27 PM

Logic Express 7 Screen shot

Posted Image

Mixing - Logic Pro X | OS X 10.8.4 | 3.4GHZ Quad Core Hackintosh | 16GB Ram |

Studio Tracking - Logic Pro 9.1.8 | OS X 10.6.8 | 2GHZ Quad Mac Pro | 6GB Ram | Apogee Symphony PCI-e | Apogee AD16X | Apogee Mini DAC | Logic Control & Extender and Mackie Control C4 and a boat load of other cool stuff i use in my studio Static Productions


#18 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 29 September 2004 - 09:20 PM

Logic Pro 7 Screenshot

Posted Image

Mixing - Logic Pro X | OS X 10.8.4 | 3.4GHZ Quad Core Hackintosh | 16GB Ram |

Studio Tracking - Logic Pro 9.1.8 | OS X 10.6.8 | 2GHZ Quad Mac Pro | 6GB Ram | Apogee Symphony PCI-e | Apogee AD16X | Apogee Mini DAC | Logic Control & Extender and Mackie Control C4 and a boat load of other cool stuff i use in my studio Static Productions


#19 Ben Watkins

Ben Watkins

    Where do I post this ?

  • Site Supporters Plus
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts
  • Interests:music
  • Logic User Since:2000

Posted 30 September 2004 - 11:48 AM

Placed my upgrade order @ the Apple Store :D :D :D :D
Well done Apple!

Ben

#20 AudiosteeleVR6

AudiosteeleVR6

    Ohh.. I got it now

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Interests:Snowboading, cars, video games

Posted 30 September 2004 - 12:01 PM

$299 is not much considering all the extras that are in the new package. The inclusion of Apple Loops alone to me is worth the upgrade. Late adopters may gripe that they now have to pay extra (I just got Logic in late August) but no one says you have to upgrade right now. You might have a legitimate gripe if you purchased Logic 6 on Tuesday and then saw Logic 7 on Wednesday. With that said...my upgrade to 7 is on the way.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users