Jump to content

  •         

Are You Using Garageband ?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you use GarageBand ? (121 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you use GarageBand ?

  1. Yes (26 votes [21.49%])

    Percentage of vote: 21.49%

  2. No (95 votes [78.51%])

    Percentage of vote: 78.51%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Peter

Peter

    Site Creator & Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island, USA
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 05 February 2006 - 10:28 AM

Does anyone use GB in conjunction with Logic ?
Please discuss if and how you use GB.

Mixing - Logic Pro X | OS X 10.8.4 | 3.4GHZ Quad Core Hackintosh | 16GB Ram |

Studio Tracking - Logic Pro 9.1.8 | OS X 10.6.8 | 2GHZ Quad Mac Pro | 6GB Ram | Apogee Symphony PCI-e | Apogee AD16X | Apogee Mini DAC | Logic Control & Extender and Mackie Control C4 and a boat load of other cool stuff i use in my studio Static Productions


#2 tobyond

tobyond

    Moderator Retired

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern WA
  • Logic User Since:2000

Posted 05 February 2006 - 12:08 PM

I use GB to sketch out ideas when on the road. I don't like traveling with my XSKey, so GB is perfect for that. It is surprisingly powerful, but just not powerful enough to complete anything. The lack of automation of anything but volume and pan are the most frustrating.

#3 Mikey MTC

Mikey MTC

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 07 February 2006 - 07:53 PM

Does anyone use GB in conjunction with Logic ?
Please discuss if and how you use GB.



I used to a little bit, but now I've got an M-Powered Pro Tools system that can move with the PowerBook so I'd use Pro Tools and the new free Xpand plugin to sketch out anything .... or of course Logic on the PowerBook.

Travelling with all these dongles is a dangerous move though, so Garage Band does have its benefits.

#4 golly001

golly001

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 07 February 2006 - 07:55 PM

I personally wished they made a Garageband Pro with 24bit and some of the logic filters. I use Logic Express at the moment, however I'd much rather be working in the Garageband interface. I think it's a bit of a paradigm shift when you go from writing music to using logic, as you have to think quite differently for each. I think Garageband bridges this gap better, doesn't feel like I'm leaving my muso headspace as often.

#5 prajna

prajna

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Oregon Coast
  • Interests:Electronica, Indian Ragas
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 07 February 2006 - 08:13 PM

I used to use Garage Band! That's what got me started in all this craziness.... from GB, to Reason, to Logic Pro.

Personally, I find GB crashes when trying to record guitar over a quick riff or two, without any other instruments being monitored.

Logic's use of processor is way different, IMHO.

#6 syzygywell

syzygywell

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 07 February 2006 - 08:41 PM

I occasionally use some of the instruments in logic but as my vsti/au library grows I find it just sitting there. The only times I really use it is when on vacation. With my home studio unavailable I find myself tweaking ideas on my gf's computer while she sleeps. I got into a little trouble for that while in paris...

#7 Rob

Rob

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Apple Valley CA
  • Interests:Music

Posted 07 February 2006 - 08:44 PM

What's Garage Band? (kidding) Don't use it at all.

#8 onelouder

onelouder

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:London England & Melbourne Australia
  • Logic User Since:1986

Posted 07 February 2006 - 08:46 PM

I personally wished they made a Garageband Pro with 24bit and some of the logic filters. I use Logic Express at the moment, however I'd much rather be working in the Garageband interface. I think it's a bit of a paradigm shift when you go from writing music to using logic, as you have to think quite differently for each. I think Garageband bridges this gap better, doesn't feel like I'm leaving my muso headspace as often.



Before Apple acquired Emagic, there was no GB! GB evolved out of Logic, which is suppose to get you interested in Express and Pro. Funny though, the way Apple think (which is not logical ;-)
who knows, there maybe a future GB Pro, which will doubtless be Logic Pro with a name change!

If you watch Steve Jobs demonstrating iLife 06 with GB (Jan Mac World Quicktime) , more time seems to have been spent developing that, than the new basic Logic 7.2 update! WOW! you get a ducking plug in and it will work on your new Intel Mac as well as PowerPC! Of course we will pay for that update, cheers Apple!

#9 golly001

golly001

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 07 February 2006 - 10:23 PM

I guess to clarify my last statement about Garageband Pro - I don't think Logic was ever made for the average musicians; it shares it's emphasis between sound engineers and pro muso's. Garageband is made for the non pro musician, and I really think there is a new market opening up now consisting of people that don't want to learn a pro app (or pay for one) but want to lay some tracks down and get their song out of their head. Garageband is already catering for this market, but at 16bit, you are almost wasting your time because you have to re do it all later!

So I don't see an expansion of this as a foray into Logic's market, - because the people I'm talking about will resist everything about logic - but rather a capture of an emerging market.

For all of logics versatility and power, I'm only using it because it is 24 bit and I'm sure there are many people like me.

#10 chmara@gainbroadband.com

chmara@gainbroadband.com

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Logic User Since:2004

Posted 07 February 2006 - 10:29 PM

Keep it loaded but never open. Original loops and insts on board -- occassional use of insts in L7.

Thought I would use it as "sketchbook" but ...

Now if someone would figure a direct interface with Band in a Box.............then this story would change.

#11 Luis Rolo

Luis Rolo

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Logic User Since:2004

Posted 08 February 2006 - 12:54 AM

Never!
I don't even understand why some people use it as a sketchpad. And for those who wish Logic had a GB like interface... man, that's a toy interface, maybe the worst of all Apple software.

#12 stucie

stucie

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Logic User Since:2004

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:36 AM

GB is a bit like having my old 4 track back for ease of use and instant recording.

#13 onlyz

onlyz

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Logic User Since:2003

Posted 08 February 2006 - 03:24 AM

I teach a bit of GB to kids 14-18, as a way of getting them into the Apple way of audio life. Becuase I can get results with them so quickly it really keeps them interested. Once they are hooked I show them a little more in Logic.

#14 Rene Groeneveld

Rene Groeneveld

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Logic User Since:1997

Posted 08 February 2006 - 04:47 AM

Pedal-in Function Garagekey...


Perhaps I'm going to use Garageband after what I've read here. Interesting. I agree that it's not a brilliant idea to take your XSkey outdoors, so I'm always looking for alternatives.

I've read that there is a 37-keys Garagekey, specially made for MAC/Garageband. Does anyone of you have it? I'm looking forward to buy it, but only if it has a pedal-in function (jack). No one can tell me if it has it. Anyone of you? It would be very helpful...

Best Regards,
Ren´┐Ż Groeneveld
Holland

#15 georgelegeriii

georgelegeriii

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Los angeles

Posted 08 February 2006 - 04:59 AM

I have on the occasion.

When I'm on the road or out of town, I go back to Logic 5.5.1 on my Gateway AMD 64 3400 laptop. It rocks, but I'm interested in seeing how the new Apple laptops can do.

Then I'll have to rob a small bank to buy one, eh?

George

#16 chrisbell

chrisbell

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Logic User Since:2003

Posted 08 February 2006 - 05:02 AM

I use GB all the time. In fact I've immersed myself in it. Sketches, practice bg's (importing bg's from B-I-A-B is a piece of cake, remixes, and heaps and heaps of jingles, radio spots, bg music in presentations, etc. And no, I don't tell any of my clients that their super-cool, groovy 25 sec music spot or their ultra-hip remix is made with an app I got for free with my computer. But they are happy that I got the job down at half the time I usually spend using LP and/or PT.

Of course I have issues with it (, it's not perfect, but neither was my first computer/music setup; an Atari 1040 and Steinberg 24 back in 87). In my opinion, GB puts the Music back into music production. I use PT/LP (mixing, editing/scoring) on a daily basis, so I also have access to a lot of plugins in GB that is non-standard, me and my working partner has also created our own large loop library - which adds to the fun of course.

I think it's amusing that so many pro's have a hard time with GB, that it actually exists, that it comes for free (well, mostly), and that it's - - - fun.

#17 thothprod

thothprod

    Ohh.. I got it now

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit,MI

Posted 08 February 2006 - 07:49 AM

I have used some of the Preset instruments and a few loops.......
That is about how far I dabble into GB......
I did try it out to see how it worked and felt......but not my cup of tea...
Although I do like some of the patches with effects and stuff already set up...But I use them in the context of Logic just like I would any other Plug.......

#18 TechnaChord

TechnaChord

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Mid-Atlantic US
  • Logic User Since:2005

Posted 08 February 2006 - 08:13 AM

I started using GB on an iBook G4, but kept running into crashes when attempting to load in certain song files. Transferred over to LogicPro on our G5 and have been sailing smoothly ever since.

#19 northernlogic

northernlogic

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Logic User Since:1998

Posted 08 February 2006 - 10:13 AM

I have used it in the past as a sketchpad, and I'll be using the new version (GarageBand 3) for podcasting. It really is a great little program, especially when when you consider who it is designed for.

#20 rlsproductions

rlsproductions

    Ohh.. I got it now

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC & London
  • Interests:Hip Hop & Poontang - in that order!
  • Logic User Since:1999

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:09 PM

I teach a bit of GB to kids 14-18, as a way of getting them into the Apple way of audio life. Becuase I can get results with them so quickly it really keeps them interested. Once they are hooked I show them a little more in Logic.


NO! This is a perfect example of why Garage was invented - as a simple way to hook inexperienced musicians/engineers into "banging" something out & having fun the Apple way. I'm sure they will make a pro version, but I can't take that program seriously! It's a combo of all the easy to use functions from several differant programs, such as Logic / cubase interfaces and Fruity Loops sequencing, with Reason synths. If I had no choice I could see how peeple might want to sketch out rough ideas on it on the move, but I would rather use ProTools for the expanded MIDI & plug-in potential.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users